PDA

View Full Version : Filling in a large blank area in a pano


Please support NSOP by using our affilaites:
      Receive a FREE GIFT from Think Tank Photo

   Camera Gear Rentals   

frigidlight
02-20-2012, 12:14 AM
So I took this pano today from the top of the Pinnacles and I really like the perspective and the view of Lone Peak. However, it's missing a large chunk top left. I've tried content aware fill and masking and clone stamp and a whole host of tricks therein, but there's just not enough of the image that's similar for PS to be able to build anything useful.

http://www.frigidlight.com/wp-content/gallery/2-19-2012-big-sky/fl21912bigsky-011.jpg

Thoughts? I'm probably hosed but I figured it might be worth a shot.

jacobsen1
02-20-2012, 06:47 AM
you're most likely hosed. Will asked the same question on his boston skyline shot. His was a gradient and still tough to make look right. With this, the only shot would be to borrow sky and background mountains from another image, one that's not even from that location if you have to? And I LOVE the pinacles. :drool:

Will 46 and 2
02-26-2012, 01:58 PM
:(
That sucks. Wicked nice looking shot too.

thomps6s
02-26-2012, 03:51 PM
I took a crack at it. Content Aware does some odd things sometimes.

http://shawnthompsonphotography.com/images/howland.jpg

MoLS
02-26-2012, 03:55 PM
:lol:!

Will 46 and 2
02-26-2012, 08:20 PM
:lol:
Classic!

jjswee
02-26-2012, 10:31 PM
It wasn't easy, but its doable to a point. I tried.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7050/6787753064_4ec786a190_o.jpg

frigidlight
02-26-2012, 10:33 PM
I took a crack at it. Content Aware does some odd things sometimes.


:lol:!

And Josh, yeah that's basically what I was coming up with after struggling for a couple hours. Guess I need to go back up there and reshoot this I think. It's a great vantage point on the peak but access is pretty tricky and it's been closed alot this year. Hopefully I'll get a chance to get back up there.