PDA

View Full Version : Help needed with FG/BG seperation

Please support NSOP by using our affilaites:
      Receive a FREE GIFT from Think Tank Photo

Camera Gear Rentals   

Slack
11-02-2009, 05:13 PM
Okay, so I got my first paid job, but it didn't work out how I'd hoped. I am didn't get paid very much, but if this turns out well then it could mean more work for me.

I did not pick the location and I was rushed, so it the shot wasn't ideal. Well here it goes:

Click photos to check the full sized shots
All color-
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3422/4069322793_38ce4ab80d.jpg (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3422/4069322793_cc469a038c_o.jpg)

BW BG-
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2617/4070080966_afc421c366.jpg (http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2617/4070080966_0cda83967a_o.jpg)

I layered the shot and gaussian blurred the background and tried my best to blend it with the family. I am new at this and I could use a little help. Thanks in advance! (Please don't insert dogs humping in the background, please.) :lol:

MoLS
11-02-2009, 05:18 PM
We can't get to the full rez images since they're private - you can post a direct link to the full size jpg without making them public.

These look pretty good!

What kind of help are you looking for, exactly?

Stime187
11-02-2009, 05:22 PM
What's the question/problem? Both look good. I prefer the original color if you're asking for an opinion...

Slack
11-02-2009, 05:26 PM
Well, if you look at the full size shots, I am having some trouble seperating the edges of the husband's left shoulder/arm from the background. It shows up as a line and I am just not sure how to blend it more smoothly.

I guess I just presumed that because the quality of my work isn't quite up to par with a lot of the other photogs on the forum, that I probably need some help with the final touches on this shot. :o

Do the links work now?

Warus
11-02-2009, 05:31 PM