PDA

View Full Version : I can has HDR halp plz?


Please support NSOP by using our affilaites:
      Receive a FREE GIFT from Think Tank Photo

   Camera Gear Rentals   

CIM_Photography
10-04-2009, 09:26 PM
I need some help with a few HDR shots. I went to an awesome historic site today, the sun and sky was totally killer, but to get the shot, I had to do exposure bracketing.

Basically, I have a panorama done in EB, and if I can get the HDR put together rather on the uniform side, I can handle the pano end just fine. Anybody willing to help? Here's a basic EB for you to try. Post up your result if you could!!!


http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l256/redlinerally/Photography/NSOP/_MG_6532.jpg

http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l256/redlinerally/Photography/NSOP/_MG_6533.jpg

http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l256/redlinerally/Photography/NSOP/_MG_6534.jpg

MoLS
10-04-2009, 09:40 PM
There isn't much that can be done here since the clouds are blown out in the darkest exposure. After tonemapping the church and the rest of the sky come out fine but the clouds become big white blobs and it just doesn't work.

CIM_Photography
10-04-2009, 09:47 PM
Damn. I really need to get better with my skies. This has always been an issue for me.

Thanks for trying Jeff.

s7khan
10-04-2009, 10:02 PM
I'd just do something like this

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2610/3982524208_99953fdcc3.jpg

CIM_Photography
10-04-2009, 10:20 PM
How are you doing that? With what program? I tried using Photomatix, but it's WAY over my head right now (I know a lot of software already, and I don't think I have room for more info)... plus I'm tired.

MoLS
10-04-2009, 10:24 PM
Yeah - that's about as well as I could do, Saad.

But as far as technique goes for creating these - I usually bracket at least 5 shots, but then only use the ones I think I'll need. I have trouble creating anything that looks "natural" with more than 2 or 3 images. I guess I could just make sure I'm not blowing anything out - but 5 shots seems to work just fine for shots outside in midday.

s7khan
10-04-2009, 10:31 PM
How are you doing that? With what program? I tried using Photomatix, but it's WAY over my head right now (I know a lot of software already, and I don't think I have room for more info)... plus I'm tired.


Have CS3?

I took the second picture, used the magic selection tool on the sky. Selected the inverse, so everything but the sky was selected.

Ctrl-c

Went to the first picture, ctrl-v, and moved the copied section to the bottom.

Merge layers

Done

CIM_Photography
10-04-2009, 10:39 PM
:unamused:


Of course, I was trying to make everything complicated that I forgot to look at the simple solution. Dankya.

s7khan
10-04-2009, 10:50 PM
lol, welcome

jciotti
10-06-2009, 10:02 PM
I couldn't do anything more then what Saad did..

Most of the HDR work needs to be done prior to PP.. IE setting the shots up right..

ride5000
10-07-2009, 07:32 AM
if you really do have high dynamic range, don't be afraid to bracket WIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIDE

ie ~6 stops.

looking at the histogram, you want at least one shot where nothing is clipped on the left, and another where nothing is clipped on the right. fire off a couple in the middle and you're done.