PDA

View Full Version : lenses for an XTi?

Please support NSOP by using our affilaites:
      Receive a FREE GIFT from Think Tank Photo

Camera Gear Rentals   

eachin
12-31-2007, 09:06 PM
Hello, I'm new to these forums, from nasioc.

I'm a relative n00b with photography. I've been using a point and shoot for 4 years with quite a bit of success but I would really like to get into the DSLR world. I've been doing some research and it sounds like the XTi would make for a good beginners SLR.

So my next big choice is lenses. I shoot a lot of landscapes as well as action shots (snowboarding, mountain biking etc), and some wild life telephoto stuff too. I'd like to get into some more macro shots and maybe some longer exposures of northern lights (my current point and shoot sucks at those).

I'd like to start with one or 2 lenses that will fulfill most of my requirements if possible. money IS a concern, however, I am seriously tempted to get into L class lenses from the get go rather than replacing stuff in a year or 2 if i find them to be inadequate. On the other hand, there is no way I can afford 2 L class lenses. Even one would be a stretch for me.

I am currently considering the sigma 17-70, the 50mm f1.8 (it's just so cheap and apparently great image quality)

I would love to get a EF 70-200mm f/4L and EF 24-70mm f/2.8L but I don't know if i can bring myself to spend enough for one let alone both of those lenses.

any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Also, anything I need to know about purchasing from BH as a Canadian?

Stime187
12-31-2007, 09:10 PM
17-70 Sigma, 50mm f/1.8, 70-200 f/4 L. AWESOME setup in my opinion. I have a 17-70 for sale by the way...

Sigma 17-70 vs. Canon 17-40 L (a test I did, I own both):
http://newschoolofphotography.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3423

Sigma 17-70 For Sale:
http://newschoolofphotography.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4320